Skip to main content

Language certifications are international qualifications that certify language skills.

They are internationally recognised and comparable. In addition, they can be obtained through traditional academic channels or self-study.

What is a language certification?

A language certification is a document certifying your proficiency in a foreign language. It is an official and recognised certificate that certifies your proficiency.

You can attach language certifications to your CV to prove to international companies that you have mastered a foreign language to a specific level.

certificazioni linguistiche

Are you a looking for a specialised translation service?

Eurotrad is the business partner your company is looking for. Don’t hesitate to get in touch for more information about our professional translation services.

How to get a language certification

You can get language certifications by sitting an exam, which is the same across all EU countriesthat accept that specific language certification.

There are no requirements to sit the exam and the way you have chosen to learn the language is irrelevant.

Whether you have studied a foreign language at school or university, or learnt it through self-study, a foreign parent, or time spent abroad, you can easily sign up for and sit a language certification exam. People of all ages and levels (regardless of your academic studies) can sit these exams.

Which language certifications are accepted in Italy?

Italy’s Ministry of Education, University, and Research (MIUR) only accepts specific language certifications. You can find the full list on the Piattaforma Enti Certificatori (Certification Bodies Platform), which you can consult on the Pubblica Istruzione (Public Education) website.

Possessing a language certification allows you to participate in public tenders, obtain university credits, study abroad, apply for internships at foreign and multinational companies, and much more.

Language certification levels: B1, B2, C1, C2

Language certifications usually correspond to levels defined by the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR).

There are three levels (A, B, and C). Each level is divided into two stages (1 and 2). There are six levels/stages altogether.

Levels A1 and A2 describe beginners who have the proficiency to get by in a foreign country.

Levels B1 and B2 describe intermediate learners who can engage in most daily conversations.

Levels C1 and C2 describe advanced speakers. Those who reach C2 proficiency can speak a foreign language almost as well as their mother tongue.

Language Certifications for English and French

B2 and C1 language certifications in English and French are the most in demand in Italy’s labour market.

At Eurotrad, our certified translation and other services are performed by translation professionals who have obtained the language certifications required by ISO 17100.

This standard requires translators to meet at least one of the following requirements:

  • a recognised university-level qualification in translation studies;
  • a recognised university-level qualification in a field other than translation, awarded by a higher education institution, plus two years of professional experience as a full-time translator;
  • 5 years of professional full-time translation experience.

Do you need to translate texts for your business?

We have been in the game for over twenty years. We help companies all over the world do business with our translation services.